8 of the World’s Remaining Absolute Monarchs

8 of the World’s Remaining Absolute Monarchs


We live in a world in which democracy has become a gold standard for national governance. Despite global moves towards expanding democratic rule, there are still around 43 countries that still have a monarchy, some of which rule those countries. Here are 8 countries still ruled by monarchs.


Bahrain is a small island nation in the Persian Gulf. Its neighbors include Saudi Arabia to the west, Qatar to the southeast and Iran to the north. Bahrain is an ancient land and it’s people were among the first to convert to Islam in roughly 628 CE. Bahrain’s ruling family is the Al-Khalifa dynasty and its head and king of Bahrain is Shaikh Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa who, essentially, rules as an absolute monarchy despite the official portrayal of the monarchy as a constitutional monarchy. The King has the power to appoint the Prime Minister and his ministers, commands the army, oversees the judiciary and even appoints and dissolves parliament.


Prev1 of 8Next